Homemade: Laundry soap

We have 3 kids plus run a daycare so laundry is a BIG thing in my house! I figured I’d try making my own laundry detergent since I do so many loads that it may actually save some money.

I bought:
Ivory bar soap $2.99/4 pack at Target
Borax $3.99 at Target
Arm & Hammer Washing Soda $7.49 through Amazon

I researched online and found a couple recipes. I pinned this one homemade laundry detergent on Pinterest and followed it.

I grated 1 bar of Ivory soap with a regular cheese type grater and poured it in a pot with 4 cups of water to bring to a boil. Brought it down to med/low heat and stirred until the soap melted. I filled my 5 gallon bucket 1/2 way full with hot water. I added in the soap mixture, 1 cup of Washing Soda and 1/2 cup of Borax and stirred it with a really long wooden spoon. I then filled the remainder of the bucket with water and stirred again.

Next, let it sit overnight. When you open the bucket, it will have a sort of gel on top so stir it up some more! Now, fill up 1/2 of an old laundry container (or old milk jug) with your soap and fill the rest with water. Shake it up to blend each time you use. I measure each load with the lid just as you would with store bought detergent🙂

20111128-152143.jpg

20111128-152204.jpg

Leave a Reply

