Alteration: Resizing jeans and changing the fit

So, if you’ve read some of my other posts, you’ll know that I scored 8 pairs of jeans on eBay last month. This pair was my least favorite, mostly because they were way too big and they were high in the waist…not a good combination on me.

Anyway, I decided it was time to “fix” them😉

I swear I took a before picture showing the waist but I cannot for the life of me find it. So this picture will have to do…it shows how baggy they were at least.

20120124-104643.jpg

With this pair, I honestly didn’t like the high rise style so I decided to take them in from the inside instead of the outer leg like I’ve done in the past resizing jeans the easy way

20120124-105019.jpg

20120124-105037.jpg

I took a whole inch to inch & a half off all of the way down. Remember, the amount you are taking off is double this number because you are sewing through the front and backside of the jeans.

20120124-105436.jpg

*Note: Whenever you alter pants by taking in the crotch, this also brings down the waistline. This technique changed the jeans from high waisted to a low rise that now sits on my hips instead of my waist. Also, I washed these jeans in very hot water and dried them on high heat to shrink before I began sewing.

Lastly, I hemmed them keeping the original hem original hem the easy way

Before/after pic

20120124-105855.jpg

Please follow me on Twitter @RefashionMama or Pinterest @RefashionMama.

5 thoughts on “Alteration: Resizing jeans and changing the fit

  1. I’m sorry, but what did you actually do? Maybe I’m missing something but this just shows a few photos of too big jeans, then inside – out jeans, then someone wearing jeans that look tight. Where’s the tutorial about how to change the rise?

Leave a Reply

