Refashion: Pretty silky dress turned into a top

I love the fabric of this dress. It’s the whole reason I bought it! However, the style and length weren’t quite my style.

20120131-132516.jpg

I have a friend who started following my blog since day 1…I made her a cute silky top from the bottom portion of the dress.

So, I chopped the whole bottom portion of the dress, pinned and hemmed it.

20120131-133332.jpg

20120131-133437.jpg

Next, I created a neckline and sleeves by adding two small stitches at the top of the shirt (what was the bottom of the skirt). The skirt was wide enough that I was able to create the neckline and sleeves from the whole bottom portion instead of cutting arm holes on the sides.

20120131-134155.jpg

Now, it’s a beautiful silky top!

20120131-134504.jpg

Before/After pic

20120131-134606.jpg

Follow me on Twitter or Pinterest @RefashionMama or on RefashionMama’s facebook

3 thoughts on “Refashion: Pretty silky dress turned into a top

  1. What did you do with the top of the dress? Anything? I would think if there was enough left it would make a cute summer top!

    1. I do use the top portions for other things🙂. This one I haven’t refashioned yet but was thinking of making it into a tunic for my daughter.

Leave a Reply

