Refashion: Tank and cute scrap fabric

Tonight I wanted to make a cute new tank to wear since the weathers been sl nice. I have a ton of scrap fabric with beautiful prints from ring slings and other projects I’ve made.

I took 2 squares of 20″x20″ of this beautiful scrap fabric.

20120516-200340.jpg

I grabbed a stretchy navy tank out of my drawer o’tanks (I literally have 50+ tank tops).

20120516-200524.jpg

I created a bit of gathering to the front center of the tank by using the widest stitch possible then pulling the ends of the thread to gather.

20120516-200710.jpg

Next, I took my 2 squares with the right sides facing (gathering at the top) and sewed down both sides.

20120516-200831.jpg

I hemmed the bottom all the way around by folding over twice and using a straight stitch.

20120516-200920.jpg

Next, I cut the tank and sewed it to the bottom half of my new top.

20120516-201246.jpg

20120516-201255.jpg

I created this tank long so that I could wear it as a tunic with leggings or just as a cute top. I think the print will also go well with jeans (my every day attire).

20120516-201438.jpg

I’ll be wearing this tomorrow (like I always do with new clothes I make!). Follow me on Twitter or Pinterest @RefashionMama or on facebook

4 thoughts on “Refashion: Tank and cute scrap fabric

    1. Redneckymommy, this fabric is from JoAnns. I bought it quite a while back so I’m unsure if they still carry it (I haven’t seen it again). I only have a very small piece left, maybe enough to make a dress/top bodice piece for a toddler. What size do you wear? I’m open to selling most of my creations so if you’re interested to buying this original feel free to email me at refashionmama@gmail.com. The tank portion is very stretchy (size small but fits 36D) and the waist/hips portion of the tunic is 40″ wide.

Leave a Reply

